AIADMK-PMK sign electoral pact; PMK gets 7 LS seats

Tamil Nadu’s ruling AIADMK party and PMK on Tuesday sealed an electoral alliance for the ensuing Lok Sabha polls, whereby the latter would contest in seven constituencies and for one Rajya Sabha seat, said AIADMK Coordinator and Deputy Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam.

Speaking to reporters here after signing the electoral alliance pact Panneerselvam said: “Under the AIADMK-led alliance for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, PMK gets seven Lok Sabha seats. It will also get one Rajya Sabha seat.”

“The PMK will support AIADMK in the assembly bye-elections to be held in 21 constituencies,” Panneerselvam added.

“This is a mega and strong alliance that will win in the Lok Sabha polls,” PMK Founder S. Ramadoss told reporters.

He said the party has submitted several conditions that the AIADMK has to fulfill.

Ramadoss said the requests made to AIADMK are: Declare Cauvery delta region as protected region; conduct caste wise census; release of the seven persons convicted in former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi assassination case; implementation of old pension scheme for government employees, prevent Karnataka from building a dam across Cauvery at Mekadatu; waive farm loans and getting the state exemption from the common medical entrance exam or NEET exam.

PMK leader Anbumani Ramadoss would later explain the reasons for the electoral alliance with AIADMK.

Earlier in the day, Panneerselvam and AIADMK Joint Coordinator and Chief Minister K. Palaniswami welcomed PMK founder S. Ramadoss personally at the portico of the hotel and took him inside.

Signals of AIADMK-PMK deal were in the air as PMK founder Ramadoss who used to be very critical of the ruling party in the state remained silent on the issue of software company Cognizant Technology Solutions bribing Tamil Nadu government officials to get construction permits.

Speaking to IANS on the condition of anonymity a BJP leader said: “The BJP’s alliance with AIADMK is confirmed.”

The alliance with AIADMK will mostly be finalised on Tuesday as it is an auspicious day, said the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »