Pawan Kalyan to contest from 2 Andhra Assembly seats

Popular Telugu actor and Jana Sena President Pawan Kalyan will contest from two constituencies in next month’s Andhra Pradesh Assembly elections, the party announced on Tuesday.

Following the footsteps of his elder brother and superstar K. Chrainjeevi, Pawan will make his electoral debut by contesting for two seats.

The actor, who has a good following among youth, will file his nomination from Bheemavaram in West Godavari district and Gajuwaka in Visakhapatnam district.

According to a party statement, its general body surveyed eight constituencies across the state and zeroed in on two constituencies.

Chiranjeevi, who had floated Praja Rajyam Party (PRP) in 2008, contested from Palakollu in his native West Godavari district and Tirupati in Chittoor district in the 2009 elections. He was defeated from Palakollu but won Tirupati.

PRP, which won only 18 seats in 294-member undivided Andhra Pradesh Assembly, later merged with the then ruling Congress party.

In the 2014 election, Jana Sena had not contested but Pawan Kalyan had campaigned for TDP-BJP alliance. This time the party decided to contest the polls in alliance with the Left parties.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »